New Mainsail

Mast, Boom, Standing and Running Rigging, Furler System, Reefing, Barberhauler, Lazyjack etc
buckle.roger
Your Country: spain,benissa/alicante

New Mainsail

Post by buckle.roger »

I am new to the Dragonfly scene can antond help me with the choice of both supplier and fabric for a new mailsail for me 920.
I sail single handed mostly and do not race , so I need a sail that will take being roughly handled when dropping the sail as there is no one to flake it out nicely.
It has been suggested to me that a Pentex/mylar sail would be best compomise
Also I live/sail in Spain, were do I go to for a good quality and good priced sail
gminkovsky
Your Country: USA, Long Island Sound

Post by gminkovsky »

I have a Pentex main, and I have no problems flaking it neatly with the help of lazy jacks single-handed. I would think that any main is easy to handle with lazy jacks.

The choice of material is all about compromise. Since you sail in very sunny area, keep in mind that Pentex will not last nearly as long as plain Dacron exposed to a lot of UV. After 5 summers of sailing in relatively sunny Long Island Sound on the US East Coast, there is a noticeable difference between my Pentex main and Dacron genoa. Although my genoa had some restitching, the material itself is in very good shape. The Pentex material already shows wear.
buckle.roger
Your Country: spain,benissa/alicante

Post by buckle.roger »

Hi again , most helpfull. I have been told by two sailmakers that Dacron is not strong enough for the leech loadings on the Dragonfly ???? you seem to be wishing you had a Dacron main, have you any experience of Darcon mains ?
My issue is not the handleing of the main as you say with lazey lines it is not an issue but for the sail many laminates do not like beeing tosed into a lazey bag and want carefull stacking, this sort handed is not possible therfore the life of the sail is suspect with some laminates. I have been told Pentex is Ok for this but I am not sure ?