Tramps - repair or replace?

including Amas (Floats), Akas (Beams) , Swing Wing system and all other hull related issues.
cogniz
Your Country: USA, Savannah, GA

Tramps - repair or replace?

Post by cogniz »

Hey y'all

I've read the forums but hoped for some more current info.
The trampolines (nets?) are coming up on 20 years old I'd guess and show some previous repairs. While out today we noticed a seperation mid-tramp outboard from the plastic mesh and the sewn webbing.
It's about 6 inches long. Told the kids to avoid it but the tramp still feels secure.

Question. Worth repairing? Get a rehab of both tramps? Replace them?
Keep in mind I've got three kids and I'm a pastor!

But of course I don't want to kick the can down the road. I knew she was a bit old when we bought her...

Based on your answer, resources for repair or replacing get extra points!
Thank everyone that shares their wisdom so readily. I'm indebted.

Rad
Radford Harrell
SW800 #242
Steve B.
Your Country: USA, Whidbey Island WA

Mat Repair

Post by Steve B. »

I resewed my DF1000 mats a couple of times with sail thread.
Each time it only lasted a couple of years.
Then I resewed them with Tenara thread (GoreTex) from sailrite.com
That was about 8 years ago, and it looks like I sewed it yesterday.
If you repair the tramps, make SURE it's with Tenara thread.
It's tough to sew with because it's so slippery (teflon), but definitely worth the hassle.
gminkovsky
Your Country: USA, Long Island Sound

Post by gminkovsky »

Repair. New polyester 2-inch webbing all around and Tenara thread. Buy your own cone of tenara and bring the whole thing to a canvas person. They will have the 2-inch webbing. Take your Tenara cone back when done. It will last you for all of your repairs.