DF28 and Caribbean Cruising

For all those DF28 issues which do not fit into any of the categories below.
TimBlue
Your Country: USA, PA.

DF28 and Caribbean Cruising

Post by TimBlue »

I am new to the sailing/cruising world and considering the DF28 for Caribbean Island hopping. The dollar investment is substantial but within range and I don't want to make a mistake. I can't get past the options available to me with a trailerable (yet offshore rated) sailboat which is why I am stuck on the DF28. Can anyone out there build my confidence that this boat is capable of island hopping safely while still being reasonably comfortable for two (possibly four) people? Based on my research, the Bahamas, etc are reachable in a day’s sail and it seems on paper within reach of this boat. I wouldn't attempt any passage beyond a day's sail. Second question, spending a couple hundred grand and not having air conditioning is a tough pill to swallow! Does anyone have experience with overnight warm water sailing? Will my wife and I be miserable trying to sleep in anchorage?

Any and all advice much appreciated!
gminkovsky
Your Country: USA, Long Island Sound

Post by gminkovsky »

You are looking at a boat that is offering "camping style" accommodations and creature comforts! That and AC do not fit in the same sentence. You have to carefully consider what you want in a boat. Every boat is ALWAYS a compromise.

I've sailed USVI and BVI during summer (on a mono). AC wasn't available and wasn't needed.

The limiting factor on a DF28 is not volume (or total available space) but carrying capacity. Look at the specs. Stuff weighs, water weighs a lot, ice weighs a lot.